Lotic shows their ‘Power’ on debut album


Lotic’s debut album is coming out on July 13 through Tri Angle Records.

The full-length release follows on from EPs such as ‘Heterocetera’ and ‘Agitations’ that have arrived Tri Angle and Janus and remixes for Björk, showcasing mind-blowing sound design.

‘Power’ marks the first time Lotic contributes vocals to their music, adding a new aural dimension to the artist’s productions.

Speaking about the album, Lotic said: “It originally started as an empowerment album. I felt that I needed to fer something outside myself, as sort a healing moment. And then I lost my apartment. Mentally, I could only work on music once every three months or something. The question what would be empowering — the answer to that changed so ten over a two-year period. I had to figure out who I was all over again. With this record, I went back and incorporated all my musical selves.”

A love marching bands from Texas, Lotic’s home state, and Ta-Nehisi Coates’s novel Between The World And Me both influence the record. “Beats and drumming are so integral to black culture,” notes Lotic.

Pre-order the album Bandcamp and listen to ‘Hunted’ below.

1. Love and Light
2. Hunted
3. Bulletpro
4. Distribution Care
5. The Warp and the Weft
6. Resilience
7. Fragility
8. Nerve
9. Heart
10. Power
11. Solace
Vinyl-only bonus track: Burn A Print.

Patrick Hinton is Mixmag’s Digital Staff Writer, follow him on Twitter